Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gigabyte X58A-UD3R and Xeon E5620

Hello Tweaksters,
    I'm new to this for and looking for some assistance in matching a Gigabyte X58A-UD3R with a
    Xeon E5620 CPU.
    I'm aware that its officially not supported but can find numerous links that show the CPU and Mobo in a working configuration including a previous thread posted here.
    I recently purchased a new mobo as a friend provided me with the XEON CPU and some memory.
    I spent the weekend assembling the the mobo into a new case/psu and using a new Gigabyte GTX550 Ti.
    I can't even get the mobo to post, its a Rev 2, but I can't tell what Firmware its been shipped with from factory as I don't have a spare i7 to temporarily install and confirm its operation or existing firmware.
    Any ideas how to get this rig working?

Cheers Alex

Re: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R and Xeon E5620

Do you have a system speaker attached to the motherboard? Do you hear any beeps from it? What does the L.E.D diag display, what code?

Here are a couple of things you can try.

Have you tried booting it with only 1 stick of ram and just the video card and cpu. What beep codes do you here or L.E.D diag display?

If you did not check the cpu socket before installing the cpu you might want to remove the cpu and inspect the socket for any bent pins. If you are not sure on any please take a picture and upload and post link here and others can look and see if there are any bend. Make sure you use a well lit room and use macro mode if you camera supports it.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0