Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possible to use full 4GB with GA-H55M-UD2H?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible to use full 4GB with GA-H55M-UD2H?

I installed Server 2008 R2 x64 on this MB (F8 BIOS, i3-530), and am using integrated graphics. I see the semi-expected "3.75GB usable" figure in Windows, due to 256MB being given to graphics, but is there a way around this, through either a Windows or BIOS setting? I thought a "shared memory" setting in the BIOS might do it, but I haven't found it yet.

Re: Possible to use full 4GB with GA-H55M-UD2H?

Expected 3.75GB? Why do you say that?

Shouldn't you expect the full 4GB with a x64 OS, sorry just wondering as I have no experience with that OS, but I do think you should see all 4GB since you are on x64

Does taskmamager show total memory amount 4096? Post a image if you are unsure

Comment

TM shows 3835MB, the equivalent.

Win7 and Server 2008R2 are based on the same codebase, so for this subject anyway, I'm guessing they'd behave identically.

I didn't think the fact that you were running x64 frees you from the address space below 4GB that video memory consumes. I think there might be an Advanced Chipset Feature called DVMT that has a hand in this, but I can't check the BIOS at the moment to see.

Comment

Show me taskmanager please.

Ya, I thought so too about the OS, so you should see 4GB no matter what, this is why I want to see taskmanager, you may have a failing memory channel caused by incorrect QPI/Vtt and Vdimm voltages, faulty memory kit, or bent CPU Socket pins.

When you are in the BIOS, do you see - or NA for any of the channels main timings, if so one of the above is causing a channel to fail.

Yes, with x64 your GFX card does not matter, you will see full 4GB available

Comment