IDE/SATA question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IDE/SATA question

I recently installed the GA-MA790FXT-UD5P motherboard and so far it has been great and was easy to install. I'm a newbie to Gigabyte and have used ASUS mbs for years. When I installed the new Windows 7 and ran the Windows Experience Index all my numbers were 7.3-7.6 (7.9 being tops). But my disk transfer rate was a dismal 5.9. I have a 10,000 rpm WD HD that was blazingly fast on my ASUS setup. So I poked around in BIOS and found everything defaults to IDE for the SATA ports. Why does it do this? My purpose was to switch to SATA drives for the faster speed. When I read all the complicated workarounds just to get SATA speeds it makes me want to go back to ASUS! Any thoughts would be appreciated. BTW--still getting 5.9 with all my tweaking. I tried to install the drivers post-install, but I guess I'll have to start over and do it on a fresh install. I need to set up a RAID array for working with HD video capture & editing.

GA-MA790FX-UD5P
    AMD Phenom II 955
    Corsair Dominator 4gb TW3X4G1600C9D-G
    Lian Li PC-A70F
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910W
    Sapphire HD480RT
    main: WD velociraptor 300gb 10000rpm SATA
    aux: 3--WD Caviar 640gb 7200rpm SATA
    Windows 7 Profession 64 bit
    Last edited by DonET; 11-19-2009, 10:40 AM. Reason: add info

Re: IDE/SATA question

I hear you on that mine is pretty much the same thing. Perhaps that's the best that a HD will do.

Comment

It must have something to do with Windows 7 because I just ran the test in Vista 64 and I got perfect 5.9s--the highest score in Vista.

Comment

Mybe bacause standards have changed since Vista came out. You can't expect to get the same score as SSD.

Comment

All mechanical HDD's will score 5.9, including RAID 0 Velociraptors.