New machine: ep45-ud3p posting, then crashing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New machine: ep45-ud3p posting, then crashing

This is my first build of a computer, so please excuse me if I forget to cover some of the bases. And sorry if it is a bit long-winded, but I need all the help I can get and don't want to skip details :^)

I've put together a box using all new components from newegg and attempted to follow all manuals to a "T". Upon trying to power on the box the machine crashes in a way that I haven't come across in any searches of forums so far. Basically, press power and machine begins to come to life: box fan powers on instantly, Intel fan/heatsink that came with "Core 2 Quad Q9650 3G 775 45N RT" takes about 2-3 seconds to start, all 6 Phase LED's on ep45-ud3p mobo light up, Gigabyte intro screen comes up, beep (POST) sounds normal, searches for boot drive, after about 5-10 seconds of being on, all Phase LED's go off (but fans continue spinning as normal), then after about 30 seconds of total on-time, the entire machine very suddenly shuts down. Just as it does, all Phase LED's blink on for just a moment, and all systems shut off. No reboot (as I'd read about in some other posts). The strange thing is that if I try to restart the box, it will stay on for a fraction of the time of the initial attempt at booting; the shorter the time between power-on attempts, the shorter the duration the machine will stay on. If I give it 5 minutes, it may last up for about 30 seconds again.

Here are my (all new) components:
    Ep45-ud3p mobo
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3G 775 45N RT
    ANTEC SONATA III 500 BK RT case
    EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR3
    G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
    Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS 150GB 10000 RPM SATA
    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA
    TRENDnet TEG-PCITXR 10/ 100/ 1000/ 2000Mbps PCI ethernet