Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA-EX58-UD5 Doesn't boot, LED error C1 & b2

Hello,

I've recently put together a new system using a Gigabyte motherboard, and I'm not having any luck getting it to boot. I've never worked with a Gigabyte mobo before, so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if one of my components is malfunctioning.

I started by assembling everything and powering it up without success. I've progressively reduced my hardware to just the mobo, power supply, & cpu/heatsink, and I'm still getting the same problem.

Specs:
    GA-EX58-UD5
    Intel i7 920 (w/ standard heatsink)
    Antec TP2-550EPS12V 550W PSU
    Crucial CT3KIT25664BA1067 3-2GB 240-PIN DIMM
    NVIDIA GeForce 7800 (PCI express)
    ATI All In Wonder (PCI video card - alternate graphics card)

Currently I have the mobo sitting on a non-conductive surface (wooden table) with only the PSU and CPU connected. Every time I try to boot, I get the same LED codes: first I get "C1" followed by "b2". If I swap the RAM to the incorrect slots, I get "C1" - "bF" - "C1" - "b2"

I've removed everything and checked all of my connections several times. There are no loose components. The RAM is in the correct slots, and is properly installed. I've tried two different graphics cards (I've only have one installed at a time). It seems that no matter what I do, it doesn't POST. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Re: GA-EX58-UD5 Doesn't boot, LED error C1 & b2

Check the link in my sig, all the things I'd try first are in there.

Comment

You do have the ram in slots 2, 4, and 6 correct. (*Edited out 2,3,5* I musta been sleeping) I see you mentioned the incorrect slots, so I just wanted to make sure you had the correct slots correct.

Have you tried re-seating the CPU? If not, please do so and check to be sure NO pins are bent under the CPU.

Can you find and connect a case speaker as well so you can see if any error beeps are also emitted?