Memory recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Memory recommendations

I'm just beginning my first complete build. I've ordered an Antec Sonata Plus case which includes Antec 550W modular PSU. I plan on using GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS3L mobo and Intel E8500 CPU. I'm not a gamer and probably will not OC this rig. I'm just tired of my p4 Northwood rig and want to have my mind blown w/an up to date system. Will be running XP Pro SP2. Primary uses will be internet, research, some photoshop, may even get into some light weight gaming. What are some recommended memory solutions (4GB). I could also use some advice for a ~$100 video card. Many thanks in advance.
    Last edited by quepos747; 10-02-2008, 12:20 AM.

Re: Memory recommendations

I just did a new build myself, somewhat similar to your own. i started out with 2x1 GB of Crucial Ballistix Tracer in there, only to have lots of failures in Memtest+ at the rated speeds after i got everything set up. After coming here to clear that up I've learned that Corsair, OCZ and Crucial, while normally good memory brands, don't really play nice w/ Gigabyte mobos. The ones I see recommended the most around here are Mushkin, GSkill and Geil. I replaced my Crucials with this 2x2GB kit from GSkill:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

So far, these are rock solid and I would say a pretty fair price. I have a modest overclock going currently that I'm having some issues increasing, so I don't know if the memory is a factor there or not, but they should be fine for you.