Z97 OC Formula Won't Recognize SSD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Z97 OC Formula Won't Recognize SSD

I just got my system all put together. But, the board won't post. It keeps coming up as boot code: A2. Which in the manual suggests a problem with a SATA device. I have 2 Corsair Force 3 SSDs. I had intended on running RAID with them. Anyway, on first boot A2 came up. So I powered down and unhooked both of the SSDs, reset CMOS, and hooked up one of the SSDs and rebooted. Same thing A2. Then I unhooked that one and hooked up the other one. Same thing again, A2. The drives are new, I haven't used them previously. So I plan to hook them up on my other rig and see if it will recognize them.
    Regardless, can anyone on here suggest a possible solution? This is my first attempt to use an SSD, so I really don't know anything about them. I don't have any other hard drives connected, I do have a Blu Ray drive connected.
    My system specs. Keep in mind I haven't even booted yet, so nothing is configured.

ASrock z97 OC Formula
    Intel I7 4790k
    G Skill 8x2 GB DDR3 2666 MHz
    SLI Asus GTX Titans
    Cooler Master 1250 watt PSU
    Pioneer BD-R
    Corsair Force 3 SSD 240 GB x 2

Re: Z97 OC Formula Won't Recognize SSD

SSDs with older SandForce controllers have issues being recognized on Intel 8 and 9 series chipsets, like a Z97. But your Corsair Force 3 is not one of those. If someone tells you that is the issue, that is not correct.

My guess about your issue is you probably have your SSDs connected to the ASMedia SATA ports, which are the two at the "top" of the stack of the SATA ports, as viewing a board mounted in a PC case. Without an OS and driver loaded, those ports probably won't work well if at all.