New to the board, need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the board, need some advice

Hey guys, this is my first time to post on this board.

Well, I'm building a new comptuer for myself. I have about 1500 bucks to spend, but I want to keep it around 1200.

I have decided to go with the Athlon64 chip because, well, its cool, and it uses the Socket 745 (so if I want to get a new chip in the near future, I wont have to get a new mobo as well)

can yall take a look at this list and see if its ok?
    My dad will handle all the software (Windows Xp Pro etc), but I'm doing the hardware

that is the list of parts I'm buying, but I'll sum it up here as well

Athlon64 3200+

GIGABYTE K8T800 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket 754 CPU, Model "GA-K8VNXP"

EVGA GeForce FX 5900SE

Western Digital 120GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD1200JD

Kingston 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200

and a cheap soundcard (I dont wanna use the onboard audio because it apparently uses up to 6% of the CPU)

Turtle Beach 6 Channel PCI Sound Card, Model "Santa Cruz"

then the rest is just cd-rw, dvd drives, case, mouse etc
    all those are fine

I just wanted opinions on the main guts of my comp seeing as i've never built a computer before

Thanks !!
    rick

Get an ATi 9800pro, the 5900SE is a value crap version of the FX5900. But since the FX series is having troubles with DX9, ATi is the way to go right now. Also, make sure you get ECC RAM, as what you got is non-ECC

Welcome to TT! :wave:

Comment

Originally posted by amd_man2003
      Also, make sure you get ECC RAM, as what you got is non-ECC
      Only Opteron and Athlon FX (atm) systems require ECC memory the basic Athlon 64's don't. :rolleyes2

Comment

yeah, I from what I understood (from reading) the 64's dont need ECC, but heck, I dont even Know what ECC means...I'm kindof new at this stuff...

I've built computers before for other people, i've just never bought my own parts and built my own system