Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AGP/PCI Frequency help needed

Hi All,

I have been overclocking successfully for a few months now however there is one setting I have not got my head round yet as to exactly what it does.

The AGP/PCI Frequency setting.
    At the moment its set to 66.66/33.33 but it has many possible settings.

At the moment I have a 2.53 set to 2.83 i seem to hit a bit of a wall using the 2001 3d mark at 2.8.
    multiplier 19 cpu frequency 149
    Memory frequency 397
    voltage1.6

Can anyone tell me if playing with these AGP/PCI settings will help and exactly what they do.

Ok can ya give us the full details of all the hardware that ya have in this system? :?:

Comment

The AGP/PCI Bus frequencies are 66Mhz and 33Mhz (respectively) by default. You should try to keep them at this speed, because increasing these bus frequencies provides little if any performance benefits, and creates instability and can even damage components at very high frequencies.

That's why on modern motherboards it allows you in the BIOS to keep these buses at their default (66/33Mhz) frequencies independent of the FSB.

If you have the E7205 (Granite Bay) chipset, and you've been told to take these frequencies slightly out of spec to help with the Radeon 9700 Pro compatibility problem, set them 1 or 2 settings higher than default (67/34). Otherwise always try to keep them at default settings.
      My Machine

Comment

yes thanks for that if thats the case i will leave it alone, does anybody know how high you can push the memory frequency.

p4 [email protected]
        msi 4800 se
        kingston ddr 333 512 meg
        asus black pearl mobo

Comment

That's for you to find out :)