Overclocking an AMD Athlon 64 3000+

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overclocking an AMD Athlon 64 3000+

Hello. I'm trying to get the best out of my PC right now. It's primarily used as an NLE system. The programs I use are from the Adobe Suite. Right now I'm using the CS3 suite. I primarily use Premier Pro CS3 as I am a filmmaker. I usually edit videos on SD and HDV (for quite a while) formats. My main forte is on sound design.

I'd like to overclock my editing system to see whether I will be upgrading or not.So here are the specs of my system:

AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3000+ 1.8Ghz
    (2) 512 mb PC3200 Twinmos RAM
    (2) 1 Gb PC3200 Transcend RAM
    Mobo: MSI RS480M2 K8 S939
    Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce6600 512mbDDR
    Sound card: Sound Blaster Audigy SE
    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm Sata 200Gb
    (2) CRT monitors

So is it advisable for me to overclock my system based on these specs? If so, how do I start? Thank you! :)

Re: Overclocking an AMD Athlon 64 3000+

That motherboard will not help much if at all. Also, running 4 stick of ram with that CPU would extremely limit your results. You don't list your power supply as well. If it is a generic low power unit it will not be up to the task. Finally, you need to go to a dual core if not a quad core since your work could used the CPU power. I'd honestly have to say you'd be wasting your time trying. You could easily build a budget dual core for well under $1K and possible a decent Quad core. Overclocking is never a good idea with a machine that is being used for work that cannot be easily replaced if something fails.
    GIgabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX8120 @ 4GHz
    Patriot 1866MHz EL series 2X4GB DDR3
    Powercolour HD 6970 2GB w/XFX 8800GT 512MB Hybrid PhysX
    Creative X-FI titanium HD w/Technics class A 300W amp and tower speakers
    PC P&C 500W PSU
    2TB Seagate
    Coolermaster 690II w/Corsair H100 tucked under the hood

Comment