sony vaio fs15lp overclock

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sony vaio fs15lp overclock

my pentium mobile/intel 915pm chipset was 1.6gig at default. I oced it to 1.8. Ran couple of games and no problems.. but I was thinking..wouldn't it be dangerous to oc a notebook? Anyways..being the big ***** that I am, I reverted my notebook back to 1.6.... Is there any way to know if 1.8gig is a safe setting without damaging my system. I am fully aware that ocing reduces the computer's lifespan and as long as the damage isn't too significant, I am willing to sacrifice for the extra mhz. I did run some benchmarks after OCing and the difference shown from the benchmark test was only 9% increase in the CPU performance. I am a newbie at OCing... is that a significant performance increase? Thanks. (2 questions..)

Re: sony vaio fs15lp overclock

I do not think you oc'ed your laptop, what exactly did you do? I think all you did was turn on a setting that allowed your cpu to run at its full potential with out saving battery life in mind.
    CPU: Opteron 165 @ 311x9 - 2817.8 mhz - 1.47v
    Mobo: Abit KN8-SLI
    RAM: 2x512 Crucial Ballistic Tracers500 @ 202 mhz 2-2-2-5 T1
    GFX: Asus EAX1950pro @ 648/1408
    PSU: Thermaltake 500w
    SC: Audigy 2 zs
    LCD: 22' Samsung 225bw
    Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    Mouse: Logitech G5

Comment

umm.. no.. i oced my laptop. I used setfsb to OC it to 1.8.

Comment

Originally posted by AsianBatman
        I do not think you oc'ed your laptop, what exactly did you do? I think all you did was turn on a setting that allowed your cpu to run at its full potential with out saving battery life in mind.
        Now there's the helpful hint of the day.