A10 7850K running hot at new build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A10 7850K running hot at new build

Hello tweaktown, newbie here and I wanted to seek some advice on my 1st build. I got wonderful advice by browsing the forum when building my first desktop, so a big THANK YOU first to all the contributors! Here goes my problem and some solution I've found online, and I definitely need your advice on how the following might work out, before I crash anything!

Problem:
    APU and mobo running hot in BIOS, without booting OS. HWmonitor shows APU at ~64C and mobo ~40C. This is much higher than what I expected and what most tutorials have recommended.

Part specs:
    CPU: AMD A10 7850K
    MOBO: Asrock FM2A88M Extreme4+ mATX, no OC, BIOS v2.4
    SSD: Crucial MX100 256G
    HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0
    RAM: HyperX 2x8GB DDR3 1600
    PSU: Used, Cooler Master 360W 12V V2.3
    Fans: 1 fan mounted on the case, CPU stock fan
    Case: Used, some Cooler Master ATX model

Possible reasons, with some potential solutions:
    1. PSU is not good enough. It comes with the CM case and my bf has used them for 1.5 years for his entry-level gaming build, so potentially it's getting old, plus the wattage seems a bit low to me.
    SOLUTION: Get a newer and better PSU at 400+ watt.

2. Stock APU cooler is too weak or not installed properly.
    SOLUTION: Reinstall the stock cooler and consider buying an aftermarket CPU cooler.

3. Not enough case fans or bad airflow in the case. There is only 1 120mm rear fan on the case.
    SOLUTION: Better cable management; clearing the dust in the fan and adding a front fan to create better airflow.

4. Asrock mobo issues. I have read elsewhere that they tend to overheat.
    SOLUTION: Return it...