Corrupt bios maybe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Corrupt bios maybe

I built my nephew a PC for his birthday last September. It was running fine for 6 months. No overclocking. Everything perfectly stable. Not my first build at all. I'm an IT professional and deal with computers all day long every day.

Pretty sure the main bios is corrupt. CPU and DRAM lights on motherboard flash back and forth. CPU light stays on for longer and DRAM lights blinks real fast.

Holding the power and reset buttons down for about 10 seconds allows the PC to boot and everything seems fine. Ran memtest with no errors for a few hours. Ran prime95 for a few hours without any errors. All temps look good.

After shutting down and disconnecting the power cable, however, and the problem comes back.

I'm guessing it's reverting to the secondary bios after holding the power and reset buttons down for 10 seconds.
    Is the main bios hosed? Can I flash it somehow?

X470 AORUS GAMING 5 WIFI
    Seasonic FOCUS Plus 850 Gold
    AMD Ryzen 5 2600
    Corsair vengeance LPX 2x8GB
    Crucial mx500 m.2 sata ssd
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 sc gaming
    Cooler master hyper CPU cooler
    Windows 10 pro

Re: Corrupt bios maybe