Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any SB/IB generation boards (just random questions)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any SB/IB generation boards (just random questions)

I am having hard time understanding people on network even hardcore overclocking people who attempt to push clocks insane mount or push memory up. Now I do understand the concept why people say things like "CPU clock speed should always be priority 1 when comparing to memory" like in this one page where fellow had half a brain to back his concepts up, but I do not understand doesn't high end hardware owning people have any concept of real overclocking now days and only video we get on youtube is by a fellow who starts the session with "I have never done overclocking before, but...".

Now, things I wanna ask:
    * With any Intel CPU chip why would you ever consider raising DDR3 speed over 1866Mhz ? (unless you can change so called Uncore speeds)
    Why: I am asking: Doesn't people have decent Elpida Hypers to get Latencies to CL7-7-7-21 or 8-8-8-24 and not ever go tRCD over tCL just to patch few Mhz which in the end is faster than even your high end 2400Mhz DDR3's in action. why do we even consider buying anything like tCL9-tCL10 memory or even accept the idea of countering speed over latencies? (Saying this understanding latency drops over speed of course)
    * Why is CPU clock speed more important ? (in 9/10 review, OCing forums, at pretty near anywhere I keep hearing this)
    Why: If I would losen up DDR3 latencies and push CPU to 5ghz with reasonable temperatures at OS which is I would say pretty ok, OC you would lose the DDR3 speed up gain by low latencies which is 10 times the speed than 300-400Mhz push to CPU in any real life application or even on OS level, so, I am having hard time understand why would anyone really do this unless they own some Intel backyard last cold bug chip which IMC can't handle decent speeds at CPU.