Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Old time builder who feels like a n00b and would like your help (pretty please)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old time builder who feels like a n00b and would like your help (pretty please)

Finally after a long 6 year hiatus from gaming, I decided to build a new rig for myself. I'm not a hardcore gamer like I once was and just play as much as I can and as many titles with the free time I have. Although the wife is going to kill me when she hears I bought RIFT today hehe.

Anyway, I would like to share my specs and get some advice on getting the most out of my system. I am no overclock expert, but I do read some articles when I have free time. I would like a slight CPU overclock. I know it's possible because Dark Mantis from the official site recently used the new cooler I got for my CPU and got good results. He used a different chip, but I am sure my system could get a decent overclock since I am using the same CPU cooler. I don't expect the results he got, but I would like to think I could get to 3.5GHz stable.

My specs:

Rosewill ARMOR Gaming ATX Mid Tower
    Gigabyte EP45-U3DP
    Core2Duo E7500 @ 2.93GHz w/ Gigabyte G-Power 2 Pro cooler
    CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    PNY GTX 460 1GB
    OCZ Fatal1ty 750W ATX12V & EPS12V

The Case:
    I personally have LOVED this case so far. The fact I run it near the cold window helps, but Rosewill really did an outstanding job with the fans (all included) and the system runs very cool and has never gotten hot, let alone something to worry over.

The Mobo: