Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Freak issue with my EP45-UD3P board--restarts on any OS DVD boot (Windows 7, Ubuntu)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Freak issue with my EP45-UD3P board--restarts on any OS DVD boot (Windows 7, Ubuntu)

This is an advanced issue. I work in IT so I'm not a novice but I have no idea about overclocking/ram timing.

I cannot boot a lot of OS installation discs/live cds. This is what I've tried so far:

Ubuntu Live version 5.0(32 bit)-10.04(64 bit)
    Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit or 64 bit.
    Daurik's boot and nuke

What it does at some point while loading the installation is it restarts. It doesn't matter if I have a hard drive plugged in or not (I shouldn't need one to boot an Ubuntu Live CD). With Ubuntu it restarts while trying to load, and with Windows it restarts after I pick my language and click next. I have tried a different CPU, clearing the CMOS, taking out the CMOS battery, different video card, different DVD drives (IDE and SATA), and different sticks/types of RAM. No matter what I do, it always restarts where I say. I have tried loading optimized defaults and loading failsafe defaults. I feel like it might be a RAM timing issue.

Interestingly enough I installed a Hackintosh version of OS X snow leopard with these parts and it seems to boot fine without restarting ever. Didn't have issues with the install, but it was installed from a USB drive. I can still boot into it without issues when I load the correct bios settings. I don't know why it can boot this and not Windows or Linux.

I'm out of ideas. This is going to require either a replacement or help from someone high up most likely. Maybe it's a RAM timing issue? Maybe I need to reflash the bios, but how can I do that without a Windows installation?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Model Name : GA-EP45-UD3P(rev. 1.6)
    --------------------------
    M/B Rev : 1.6
    BIOS Ver : FE