GA-EP45-UD3P New Build, OCd, frequent BSODs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA-EP45-UD3P New Build, OCd, frequent BSODs

Hello everyone, this is my first post and the second PC I've built (first was several years ago.)

To start off, here is my build:

Gigabyte EP45-UD3P rev 1.0 BIOS F6
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 E0 (yay!)
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
    Corsair XMS2 Dominator TWIN2X4096-8500C5D 2X2GB CL5-5-5-15
    ASUS Radeon HD 4850 Top
    3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB 32MB Hard Drives (Using Matrix Raid0 for 150gb (where the os/programs are) and Raid5 for the rest)
    Corsair TX750W Power Supply
    Antec Twelve Hundred Case
    Windows XP Pro 32bit SP3

I'm very new to OCing but have done quite a bit of research and am relatively comfortable in the BIOS at this point. The following describes what I've done thus far, and any advice as to where I should go from here would be appreciated.

I started by bringing my FSB up to 445 and running the CPU at a 9x multi, giving me a clock of 4005 (I'm only looking to go for a (relatively) mild OC as I doubt I will be upgrading any time soon and I want my components to last (I tend to keep my rigs for several years.) The ram was set to a 2.4b multi to run at 1068. CIA is disabled and PCI-e freq is at 100. Performance Enhance is Standard and XMP is disabled as well. Timings are set at 5-5-5-15. LLC is enabled and I set my vcore to 1.275v to start, vtt at default (1.2v), pll at default (1.5v), cpu ref is on auto, mch core at default (1.1v), mch ref and dram ref on auto, ich i/o at default (1.5v), ich core at default (1.1v), dram voltage to 2.08v, and everything else on auto. Oh yes, before I forget, C1E is enabled, as are TM2 and EIST (I'd like to prolong the life of my CPU despite OCing it, if I can.)

I booted up my SP3 build of UBCD4Win 3.2.2 and proceeded to run benchmarks (memtest for a few hours, then Prime95 blend for 4 hrs, and the other two tests for 2 hours each.)