Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

EP45 DS3R and installing Raid (but not for OS)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EP45 DS3R and installing Raid (but not for OS)

I want to make a raid 1 array with a couple 1TB drives, but I already have the OS installed on another drive. The MB manual and all the help guides I can find have instructions to install the Raid and then the OS on top the Raid drive, but I just want to install the raid drive and not fool around with the OS. I am using XP pro and don't currently have a floppy disk drive (I'd rather not get one if I don't have to).

I tried installing that intel matrix thingy but it won't install- it says I don't meet the hardware requirements (I have the Intel ICH10R chip, and two identical hard drives- what else do I need?!).

I have never tried to do raid before- is there a way to install a RAID 1 array on XP without a floppy disk drive?

Re: EP45 DS3R and installing Raid (but not for OS)

You would need a floppy to do a XP install, or slipstream the drivers to a XP Install disk.

Are these two disks separate from the MAIN OS drive? If so you should be able to install the Matrix storage manager. Which link are you trying to install, give me the page please.

You may have to enabled it in the BIOS and install XP with the driver from the get go, but I dont think you need to just install the correct Intel file as long as you set RAID in the BIOS and configure the disks as RAID in the RAID BIOS

All you may need to do is enable the RAID in the BIOS and go into the RAID BIOS page and setup the RAID 1 on the other two disks and then reboot and start the system, if not luck since you have made the array try then disable RAID in the BIOS and see how th e disks are shown in windows then and try to install the matrix storage manager again.

I will help you some more when I get back as I am on my way out the door now

Comment