RAM for P35-DS4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RAM for P35-DS4

Hi. I own a GA-P35-DS4 (ver 2.1, the one that supports 1200 (OC) memory), Intel Quadcore Q6600, and was thinking about installing Vista on my computer. Right now I run 2 PC6400 OCZ DDR2 1 gig RAM sticks (=2 gigs), and I would be looking to upgrade to 4 gigs.

I would like to buy 2x2gig sticks. I was thinking about purchasing the Corsair Dominator PC8500 1066 2x2gig kit, but I've read a lot of stories of people who had problems, both with the RAM, and with the new setup using this (and other 1066) RAM with the P35-DS4. Some have suggested tweaking with voltage and other settings, but I'm a novice in this and other overclocking techniques.

Does anyone have this same motherboard and run some variety of 1066 ram on it with good stability? Or the better question - should I even bother using 1066 (PC8500) sticks and just stick to 800 (PC6400) sticks?

Note: stock CPU cooler, but my case has 4 fans.

Re: RAM for P35-DS4

1066 + will work fine in that board, and yes you will have to make some changes to timings and voltages in the BIOS for 2x2GB, with any board

I can help you out with all of that when you get your 2x2 ram so no need to worry there

800 and 1066 is not that much of a difference, and 1066 ram is actually only 800 ram with looser timings. So you would pretty much be better of getting 800. Unless you really want 1066, then get some. You will only see a difference when you benchmark, not in actual system performance

NOTE: Save for a new cooler, you CPU will thank you!

Post back anytime, I am here to help
    Last edited by Lsdmeasap; 12-01-2008, 01:15 AM.

Comment

LSD - Thanks a lot! This is exactly the kind of answer I was looking for.