• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA-P35C-DS3R - Memory problem?

... or is it a heating issue?

Hello!

I'll start from the beginning.

About a year ago I upgraded my computer with a new motherboard,
    a new processor (Intel E6850), 2 gigs of RAM Crucial Ballistix (2*1) 400Mhz.
    No overclocking on the processor (since i'm not an expert, but i want to learn ^^) I set the timings on the memory as specified, [email protected] (i discovered later it should be 2.0V, but CPUID says 2.2V?)

So far so good for almost a year, but for about 3-4 months ago i bought 2 more gigs of RAM, same brand and speed.
    I'm planning to upgrade(?) to Vista.
    And the memorys were cheap... :D

I believe everyting was fine for a month or so when the problems started, lots of programs crashed, got some BSOD.
    First i suspected software, but after one bluecreen i tested the memorys with memtest and it found a LOT of errors. I removed the memorys and tested one at the time and different banks, no problem found.
    Put the memorys back and the computer was fine again...

But no!

Just 1 or 2 days later it started again. I have to mention that the weather was very warm then and it was very hot in the room, so i suspected it might be an heating issue as well, i removed the, hm don't know the word, but the "plate" on the side of the computer...
    But no luck.

I tested the computer with Everest and one of the sensors (Temp3) ran high (60 degrees celcius) when stressing the computer with benchmark.
    And i got some error message saying, hardware fault something...
    Same thing with Orthos.

Then i tested 5-5-5-18 (I set everything on auto in Bios) on the memorys
    and then i was stable!? But why did it work before? Is there a problem with NorthBridge?

Any ideas?

Re: GA-P35C-DS3R - Memory problem?

Crucial Die OFTEN, with to much volts, not enough volts, ect. Everyday I see a new "3rd RMA on my Crucials" thread at various sites.