Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DS3L w/e8400 and 4GB OCZ 1066

Hello,

I'm new to this OC-ing business (I bet there's a lot of these lines around here). I've got a DS3L MB, an e8400 CPU, and 4GB 1066 OCZ RAM. I've OC-ed the CPU easily to 3.8 using 400 on the FSB, and it looks stable from the OCCT tests (I've got a Zalman 9700 and RealTemp shows very nice results). I'm at a loss what to do with the RAM though; it's below 1066 (which I gather means it's simply not running as well as it could) and I was hoping to get some help in achieving a high (3.6 at least) CPU overclock as well as a great RAM output. I figure I shouldn't have to take a loss in RAM efficiency just because the e8400 is so easy to OC.

Thanks, guys!

~Elrahc

Re: DS3L w/e8400 and 4GB OCZ 1066

What ram setting are you using? And why do you not just use a higher multiplier for your ram?

Or am I confused on what you are asking?

Comment

I've got the RAM settings (if you're referring to timings) on AUTO as I don't know enough about overclocking RAM yet. The RAM multiplier I don't recall off hand, but I think it's a 2.40 or 2.50 right now, making it 900-something. I'm at work now, but I'll look it up exactly when I get home in about 10 hours (yey overtime!).

I tried a higher RAM multiplier but then it exceeds 1066 by what I believe would be too much. My CPU multiplier only goes to 9, but I can apparently boost it with a .5 too, so it's 400x9.5 right now and seems stable. My problem is that I can't seem to find a good RAM setting with that FSB, and I don't exactly want to lower the CPU overclock since it's working that well, you know? Pleas let me know if I'm unclear about anything, and feel free to ask specifics (just make sure you detail what you're asking so I know what to look for specifically).

Thank you for your time! I appreciate it.

~Elrahc

Comment

I'd set the RAM to "2.00" in the BIOS. That keeps it at 1:1.