ga-ep35-ds3r & crucial memory

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ga-ep35-ds3r & crucial memory

I just assembled a new system and have a few motherboard/bios questions. this is my first time assembling a computer.

first of all, it appears to be up and running fine. the motherboard is the GA-EP35-DS3R rev2.1 bios F2

1. the memory I installed is the 2X1GB kit of PC2 6400 Crucial Ballistix with 4-4-4-12 timing (BL2KIT12864AA804). this is listed on both Gigabyte's and Crucial's website as being compatible. the memory shows up on the bios screen and cpuz as 5-5-5-18. please tell me how I can modify the bios to get the 4-4-4-12 timings. I don't want to overclock, just get to the advertised potential of the RAM. I did run memtest86+ and it sucessfully completed a run without errors.

2. during installation I bumped the north bridge heatsink and it shifted slightly (maybe 1/16"). I pressed on it to make sure it was not floating or out-of-whack. Is that okay or normal? Should I monitor the north bridge temperature somehow to make sure its within specs? what temperature is acceptable?

3. during a regular boot-up the bios information flashes on the screen (like normal), then that screen clears, then a page of IRQ assignments shows up and then goes away, then windows loads. my question is: is it normal for that page of IRQ assignments to show up? I'm just not used to seeing a screen like that.

4. I see there are two newer beta bios's available on the Gigabyte website, but it only mentions that they address issues relating to processors I don't have. is there any reason for me to flash to that bios? I'm fine with flashing the bios, but only if there is some benifit to it.

thank you!

system specs:
    psu: Antec Earthwatts 500W
    mobo: Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R rev2.1
    CPU: Intel E8400 (stock freq)
    RAM: 2GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400
    video: EVGA GeForce 8800GT 512MB (stock freq)
    HD: (2)-WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA
    optical:Samsung SH-S203B