D6 error with 970 Extreme4 and Radeon R9 390

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• D6 error with 970 Extreme4 and Radeon R9 390

This is my first build since I put together a 486 machine. I guess that dates me. I have a Strix-R9390-DC30C-8GD5-Gaming board mounted on an Asrock 970 Extreme4 mother board. When I power up the machine, Mr. Debug reports a D6 error and I get 5 beeps. I also noticed that the fans for the GPU do not turn when the machine is started. The GPU has a 6 and 8 pin header. i have connected the 6 pin power supply to the matching header. I have no cable from my power supply to match the 8 pin header so I am assuming that I only need one or the other. However, I see a white led next to to the connected 6 pin header and a red led next to the unconnected 8 pin header. This leads me to wonder if I am suppose to have something connected to the 8 pin as well. This also leads me to wonder if the unconnected header is the reason that the GPU fans do not turn. Thank you for your assistance.

Other specifics:
    CPU: AMD FX 8370
    RAM: 1 X Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB 1866 Mhz
    Moniter: Older VGA flat screen through a Data Port to VGA adapter.
    PSU: 480 watt Rosewill, bundled with Rosewill case
    Last edited by dallypost; 10-22-2015, 11:53 AM.

Re: D6 error with 970 Extreme4 and Radeon R9 390

Originally posted by dallypost View Post
    PSU: 480 watt Rosewill, bundled with Rosewill case
    I'm positive the bundled 480W PSU is severely lacking when trying to power that R9 390X.

All the manuf's site that I look on regarding a R9 390X are stating a minimum of 750W PSU, including AMD's site.
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.