New Build problem, 5 beeps, Dr Debug shows d6, d7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Build problem, 5 beeps, Dr Debug shows d6, d7

I have seen some other posts about this but have seen some differing opinions so I just wanted to ask directly what could cause this error.

ASRock z77 Extreme 4
    Intel i5-3350p
    2 each of 8gb Corsair DDR3
    2 each Asus HD 7770 1 GB cards
    Seagate 1TB HDD

Starts up, Debug counts through some numbers. 5 beeps and then d6, d7 show up. No video output.

I have tried removing on Asus from the mix. I have tried hooking up monitor to all ports. If I understand the beep codes posted on ASRock site then the problem is VGA recognition, yes?

What do I do then? This is my first build, so forgive me for sounding like a noob. Thanks.

Re: New Build problem, 5 beeps, Dr Debug shows d6, d7

Power Supply: 550w ?

Is that to mean it is of unknown make and model?

Was the board new, vs used? Have you tried clearing the BIOS?

Yes, I see the 3350P. Meaning no on-die Intel HD graphics. What KB and mouse are you using? Tried it with a bone standard no frills KB and mouse?
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.

#2 - Consider your PSU to be the foundation from which all else is built upon. Anything built upon a weak foundation is poorly built.

Comment

PSU is Logisys, dual fan, model is PS550A-BK, support for ATX 20/24, dual SATA.

Mobo is brand spanking new.

Absolutely no frills Dell Keyboard, and honestly and have not bothered to hook up mouse yet...