Z75 Pro 3 Mobo BIOS Update fail - blank screen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Z75 Pro 3 Mobo BIOS Update fail - blank screen

Hi all, this is my first post and would really appreciate any help.
    This is my first build since the days of 486's, probably about 20 years ago, so I am certain I made dumb (and careless) mistakes.

Just got all the parts today. Took a few tries to get OS installed, as I kept getting BSOD. After a few reboots got the OS installed, but computer would occasionally restart and I couldn't see why. As far as I could tell power was consistently on. Thought I would be smart and update the BIOS. Got the version 1.5 windows update from the ASRock site, and update was going OK until screen blanked out. It's still blank. And now the power button doesn't even work.
    So, two questions:
    1) Is there any way to salvage this Mobo? Or is my best bet to send back to Newegg?
    2) Is there something else that might have been causing those spontaneous restarts?

Specs:
    Mobo- ASRock Z75 Pro3
    BIOS- 1.40 (tried to update to 1.50)
    CPU- Pentium G630
    RAM- GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 2 x 4Gb
    VGA- Radeon HD 6670 Gigabyte GV-R667D3-1GI
    HD- OCZ Agility 3 60 Gb AGT3-25SAT3-60G

Any help is very much appreciated! Thx!

Re: Z75 Pro 3 Mobo BIOS Update fail - blank screen

Originally posted by NateZ View Post
    Hi all, this is my first post and would really appreciate any help.
    This is my first build since the days of 486's, probably about 20 years ago, so I am certain I made dumb (and careless) mistakes.