H61M "Can't find any devices"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H61M "Can't find any devices"

Hello. I am a bit of a noob with a frustrating problem. I recently built a computer with help from friends, and now I can't get it to... well, to do much of anything.

* H61M U3S3 ASRock motherboard
    * Appropriate Intel chip
    * solid state OS drive
    * spinning data drive
    * external USB optical drive

(You can tell I'm not a spec nerd or else I'd list out all the product specs.) Anyway, we got this thing running with Ubuntu + XBMC and I was having fun. Eventually I started poking at the fstab file and managed to mess that up, and while I was trying to fix that, during one of the reboots, I received the following error message. At first I thought I'd caused the problem by frobbing fstab, but now I'm not so sure.

Asmedia 106X SATA Controller Ver 0.90 IDE Mode
    S.M.A.R.T. Supported
    Using PCIE Gen 2
    Can't find any device.

The problem here is that I can't even boot into the BIOS to debug the issue or to wipe-and-reinstall my operating system. I have tried

* Holding down F2, or F1, or F10, or F12 at startup makes no difference. I never see a message offering to drop into the BIOS, nor does holding down any key change the message which appears.

* Booting from a CD is unsuccessful. It sort of spins up for a bit, seems to start reading the disc, then stops.

* Jumping the CMOS pins didn't change anything. Same message, no difference. I also tried removing the motherboard battery and then putting it back. No difference.

* I disconnected the two drives. Same message.

* The motherboard does seem to POST. I don't always hear it beep, but sometimes I do.