2TB HDD shows only about 1.25TB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2TB HDD shows only about 1.25TB

So this is my first time building a computer. Everything went smoothly except for the fact that after installing the OS, I found out that the system only recognized about 1.25TB of the total 2TB capacity. I installed Win 7 64bit by the way. I searched online and came to understand that I might be able to fix this by re-installing the OS with some driver provided by Asrock. But since I had quite a few applications installed already, I would like to know if there are ways that I can do now to keep the current OS and fix this problem at the same time. Any input is appreciated.

Re: 2TB HDD shows only about 1.25TB

We can best help you only when you you include the brand name and model number of each hardware item in your hardware list, especially your hard drive!!

Press the windows Start icon in the task bar menu.
    Type disk management in the bottom of the pop up menu and click on "Create and format hard disk partitions".
    You should see a window similar to the attached picture.

Do NOT change anything right now.

Press the <Alt> and <Prnt Screen> keys.
    Open an image editing program and paste the saved clipboard image into the program and save the file as a JPG or PNG file.
    Attach the saved image file in your next post when you select Go Advanced as a forum posting option.
    The Attach icon is to the right of the yellow Smiley icon.

Click image for larger version

Name:	sample Disk Management screen-shot showing disk partition information.png
Views:	2
Size:	96.4 KB
ID:	752167
    Q9650 @ 4.10GHz [9x456MHz]
    P35-DS4 [rev: 2.0] ~ Bios: F14
    4x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1094MHz @5-5-5-15
    MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack (1GB) video card <---- SLI ---->
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 80 Plus Platinum psu (660w)
    WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot)
    SLI @ 16/4 works when running HyperSLI