Changing from XP to window 7 with more than the usual problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing from XP to window 7 with more than the usual problems

Hi, I'm only new to this so please bear with me.
    I did my home work on changing from XP to 7 and l did everything to the letter but when it gets to about 16% loaded the screen goes haywire and that's where it stops, it won't load anymore. It's a patten on the screen and the only thing l can do is turn off the power.
    This is a brand new Motherboard and l put XP because l didn't have windows 7 then. I have tried Vista and almost the same happens.
    Any ideas......please

Asrock N68-VS3-FX Motherboard
    AMD Athlon II X2 260 3.2 Ghz CPU
    2 x A-RAM 4GB DDR3 Memory DIMMS

Re: Changing from XP to window 7 with more than the usual problems

What are you trying to do actually? An upgrade, or a clean install? You should just backup any files you need, and then do a clean install of windows 7, it will run so much better as a clean install vs upgrade anyway.

What graphics are you using, onboard or a add on graphics card? Are you using the latest BIOS for the motherboard

Comment

Hi,
      I tried a clean install but with no luck at all, it wouldn't even try to load windows 7. So I put XP back on it and now it gets the 16% mark and all hell breaks loss.
      I'm only going on the onboard graphics.
      I have the latest bios for the motherboard, like l said, l brought the motherboard 4 weeks ago. I wish l could give you information but that's all l have.

Originally posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
      What are you trying to do actually? An upgrade, or a clean install? You should just backup any files you need, and then do a clean install of windows 7, it will run so much better as a clean install vs upgrade anyway.

What graphics are you using, onboard or a add on graphics card? Are you using the latest BIOS for the motherboard

Comment