My M1015 Experiences, with various motherboards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My M1015 Experiences, with various motherboards

I just got my LSI SAS9220-8i / M1015, and I have some experiences to share with others, because, along with the crossflashing, this card had me pulling my hair out.

My system specs for my gaming / media PC are:

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 Ram (16GB)
    Gigabyte GTX470 SOC
    Antec HCP1200
    (2) LG Blu Ray Burners
    (2) Icy Dock 3 in 2 trayless drive cages.

I received this card from China, after purchasing it on eBay. It came within about 10 days, and during this time I was daydreaming about how sweet it was going to be when I put it into my computer, and then I could use all of my IcyDock 3 in 2 enclosures, I have 2 of them, and also 2 Blu Ray burners.

I had been unsatisfied with the fact that when I had the drive cages plugged into the motherboard sata ports, and I plugged a new drive into the cage, it would shut down the other drive connected to the same controller, and then reinitialize them both. If I was playing a movie from one hard drive, and plugged in a new drive, the movie would stop playing; I am finicky this way.

At first I was mad at IcyDock, because I thought it was a power related issue, but when the same problem happened with different power cables, I ruled that out. I racked my brains and in a fit of genius, I connected each port of the drive cage to a different controller, i.e, the OS drive to the Intel 6GBs controller, and the second drive to the Marvell 6GBs controller, and the third drive to the Marvell 3GBs controller. This solved the problem, and began my search for a new controller card.