Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD 939 Vs Intel 775

Hello,

I'm pretty new to this and am looking to spec a new PC. I am looking at one of the two new Processor sockets (939 or 775) but have read differing reviews on both, such as Intel 775 is unstable at the moment and AMD doesn't have the scalability the new Intel architecture has. If anyone could offer advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Let's see, socket 939 will offer greater performance at reduced cost...

Until Intel brings the cost down, increases performance greatly, and introduces PCI-E, it's new socket type shouldn't even be considered. That's assuming it gets done before PCI-E is available on AMD systems...

What's your budget? what do you want to do with this?

Comment

Thanks for the reply.

I'm looking at a gaming machine (possibly overclock) and money isn't a great issue (I'm in the UK by the way) as I plan on building something that I can easily upgrade, thats why I was looking at those two chipsets. Any advice on what I should go for will be great. I have had a brief look round and Intel do appear to ship PCI Express on their 925x boards, will AMD do this soon as well?

Comment

NForce 4 is supposedly in development. It is supposed to bring PCI-E to socket 754, socket 939, and socket 940. It probably won't be too long. However, PCI-E doesn't really matter. It's almost completely useless for graphics cards as it will provide very little, if any, improvement over AGP 8x. It does do away with the old PCI bus, but that doesn't really matter if you don't need a lot of PCI devices (and you shouldn't with a gaming rig).

Without purposely trying to spend as much money as possible, here's what I would suggest for a gaming machine:

ABIT AV8 (you can also get the Wi-Fi version for money, if you need it)
        Athlon 64 FX-53 (socket 939)