Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Adding a third stick of ram into my machine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding a third stick of ram into my machine?

Hi there, Im a complete noob when it comes to computers so please excuse me if i sound a little ignorant. I have at the moment two sticks of DDR2100 (266) ram but I'm playing a game called Planetside and have been told to add another 512meg of ram to my machine to get it up to a gig. I have a third slot and was wondering if it is possible to just add another stick of DDRPC3200 to get a gig ram or do I have to buy a matched pair of them. If anyone can help it would be much appreciated, thanks alot. :)

Re: Adding a third stick of ram into my machine?

You need to list your complete system specs. The names/models and so forth so we know what hardware you have and if it will work.
    GIgabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX8120 @ 4GHz
    Patriot 1866MHz EL series 2X4GB DDR3
    Powercolour HD 6970 2GB w/XFX 8800GT 512MB Hybrid PhysX
    Creative X-FI titanium HD w/Technics class A 300W amp and tower speakers
    PC P&C 500W PSU
    2TB Seagate
    Coolermaster 690II w/Corsair H100 tucked under the hood

Comment

Ok no problems will this do the job? System Information ------------------ Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) System Manufacturer: VIA Technologies, Inc. System Model: VT8366-8233 BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1600+, ~1.4GHz Memory: 512MB RAM Page File: 206MB used, 1043MB available Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904) Display Devices --------------- Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X Manufacturer: NVIDIA Chip type: GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X DAC type: Integrated. I do realise that my machine is ****e but I can't afford a complete upgrade at the moment :P
      Last edited by tage; 08-09-2006, 09:19 PM.

Comment