Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound Cards - Do We Still Need Them?

Hello,

I was wondering what the Forum thinks about Sound Cards. People tell me that the integrated audio chip is sufficient, these days, but what's your take?

I am an Amateur Musician/Producer and I just bought my Graphics Card for gaming, so I am thinking about getting an OMEGA Claro II, just to top off the performance of my machine, and to improve any capabilities of FL Studio 10.

Used a Turtle Beach Sound Card before, and I noticed a slight improvement, but this was about three years ago.

Thank you!

Re: Sound Cards - Do We Still Need Them?

If you will be doing any kind of audio recording/mixing/producing, you will definitely want a separate audio card, and the software that is part of the package.

IMO, the audio capabilities of many new mother boards is not better than in the past, and in at least one way is worse. The specs of the newer chips may be better in some aspects, but if you are into audio you know that specs do not tell the whole story about the sound. The line level amplifiers are on the large sound chip, not even separate op-amps that are used on better sound cards. On board audio can also be noisy, and if it is, fixing that is virtually impossible.

The audio chips on mother boards may be described as "5.1 or 7.1 channel Surround Sound", but all they really provide are the line level analog audio outputs, without and DD or DTS decoding. The board's SPDIF output(s) will be two channel stereo only. If a board's description or specs do not specifically mention DD or DTS, it will not have that capability. The DAC on the audio chip is also an unknown.