Some novice questions before I order a new card

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some novice questions before I order a new card

OK so I'm just about (all being well) to order a GTX680 but want to make sure that it will fit & be compatible with everything else currently in my system:

Coolermaster CM690 Dominator case
    P5K3 mobo
    ATI HD 5870
    6GB Kingston DDR3
    i7 920 (3.8GHz OC)
    Noctua NH-D14 cpu cooler
    XFX Pro 750w PSU

Am I good to go..?

EDIT:

Are there any special install instructions as I'm a complete novice at upgrading.. the Noctua being the limit of my 'experience' & would I (should I) flash my mobo's bios prior to installing the card.. I have the correct updated bios, but am a bit nervous of the process & have so far put it off.

Thanks.
    Last edited by miseryguts; 04-27-2012, 05:15 PM.

Re: Some novice questions before I order a new card

make sure the size fits your case, then it should be as simple as:

uninstall ATI drivers - shut down system and pull ati card, put in nvidia and bootup, install drivers and done.
    My advice - never visit a short-url, no matter who gives it to you. You can't trust any source at any time when you don't know your target
    Whitey:Snuggles: Zotac Zbox HD-ID40 (Atom d525, worst purchase ever on cpu), Patriot Pyro 60GB (Thanks to Tweaktown Giveaway), 4GB 800' DDR2 SO-DIMM
    Bcube (NAS): ASUS F1A75-I Deluxe, AMD A6-3500 @ 2.1GHz, LSI 9240-8i (M1015) controller, GSkill Ares 1866 8GB blue kit, 4x Seagate SV35.5 2TB, 1x Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB, 1x Samsung HD103UJ, 1x Samsung F4 2TB, Temp. Rebel9 Alu case, Corsair H60, 2x Icy Dock MB973SP-B, NZXT UI01, Enermax T.B. Silence on docks and cpu, Aurum 500W gold PSU. (Draws 65W average, doesn't peak above 100W at any time)

Comment

Originally posted by dJabba View Post
      make sure the size fits your case
      Hopefully this Isn't too stupid a question.. but how do I do that?