X850 setup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X850 setup

Ok first things first, I'm very new to this... I mean 2 weeks new to this. I got my new PC 2weeks ago and now im trying to tweak it but i need some help from you experts out there.

My PC is :

Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 motherboard
    AMD 64 4000+
    2Gb kingston value ram
    Raid SATA 160Gb HD
    Sapphire 256Mb X850 XT

I thought this was a decent setup (please feel free tell me if I went wrong somewhere)

My benchmark on 3dmark 05 is 5808 with no overclocking, and heres the big question coming from a complete newbie, how do I overclock my graphics card and will I get anywhere near 8000 with my setup?

EDIT *25 views and no help, I guess this site aint for newbies then* tut
    Last edited by sewegav; 05-27-2005, 11:38 AM.

Re: X850 setup

Go into the Catalyst Control Center, under graphic settings there is a section called "OverDrive". You can choose either automatic overclock or set your own settings. all risk is on you however.

Comment

Part of you system that hit me was the Value RAM, personaly I would have bought a slightly slower CPU and gone with some nice 1GB of PC 3200 (2x512) it proforms better than 2x 1GB stick and 4x512 sticks. In most aplications(because of RAM timings and command rates). I think you could hit around 6500-7000 on air if you have VERY good airflow and you have good luck OCing that processor and RAM. You could hit 8000 easy if you got yourself a water cooling kit. If you dont want to play with water then get it professanly installed.

Terry is right no the dot with that, there are ather programs that you can OC that with too, but that will work just dandy.

Comment