• Show
Clear All

• XFast Ram set up on Extreme 9

Hello all,

I have a question on setting up XFast Ram on the Extreme 9. My set up:

-x79 Extreme 9 Mobo
    -64 GB 1866 Corsair Vengeance
    -Win 7 X64

I've been building my own PC's for over 10 years but am new to Ramdisks. I set up a 8 GB Ramdisk (which I read somewhere is the highest XFastRam supports on Win 7x64). Now my question is can I install programs on the Ramdisk and run them from there. I have a couple video editing and audio programs that I use. Or can a ramdisk only be used to store files and not install programs. I installed FL Studio on the ramdisk and when I rebooted several files were gone and I wasn't able to run the program. Thanks.

Re: XFast Ram set up on Extreme 9

A RAM Disk uses your PCs memory in a similar way as a regular HDD/SSD. It becomes a storage "volume" like any other, and is assigned a disk letter just like your other drives. So why don't we all use these instead of HDDs and SSDs? For the very reason you saw, RAM memory is not persistent, as soon as power is removed from it, everything on it is lost.

Since a reboot, or even a Windows Restart clears the RAM memory (due to power loss or the standard memory clearing on restart), anything in it will be lost. The RAM Disk will be recreated on each reboot (if configured that way), so anything put there previously will be gone. You may have temporary files or program caches set up on the RAM Disk, but they are just recreated more or less when the RAM Disk is created. So it may appear that some things are still on the RAM Disk, and others are not, but the temporary and cache files have just been created again. That is the major downside of RAM Disks.