X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tight budget purchase- Did I do OK?

:confused:
    Hi all,

This is my first time posting and I need some opinions on an upgrade purchase I just made for a motherboard/CPU/Cooler.

I wanted to stay under $300 USD as much as possible so I purchased:

Soyo P4VSA Socket 478 Motherboard w/ P4 1.8GHz CPU
    ThermalTake P4 Dragon 478 w/ Fan Speed Controller

Total: $265 USD w/o shipping

I'm biased toward an ASUS motherboard, but I'd have to buy DDR RAM and I can't afford that much. The Soyo has 3-SDRAM DIMMS, so I went with it. I hope I didn't buy a crap board.

Let me know what you think and thanks in advance for your opinions.

Baronhawk

Well i dont mean to be rude, but i will put it bluntly. That was a bad choice. Using the P4 and SDRam will seriously bottleneck your performance. For under $300, you are MUCH MUCH better off with an athlon XP and DDR2100/2700 board.

Comment

Here you go:

AMD Athlon XP 2100 - $135US
      Epox 8K3AE - $85US
      Thermaltake Volcano 9 Cooler - $25US

Im guessing that would be a good %20 ahead of that P4 selection in terms of performance

Comment

i can definitely say that p4's on sdram SUCK when compared to a base DDR equivalent, I have used 2 identical PCs here at work, only difference being the mobo model was the ddr version (hence ddr ram) and the difference for me was phenomenol.

also the difference of 256 to 512 Mb of DDR is stupidly amazing in winXP

Comment

Yeh but for under $300 usd i think an athlon XP would be much more beneficial than a P4 on DDR, the only time the P4 starts beating the athlon is when you start spending big money.

Comment

Athlons are just so much cheaper. A 1600+ is 55 USD at newegg.com..thats great man...1.6 GHz performance for under 60 bucks. A Epox or Abit KT333 mobo for less than 80 bucks..you could have gotten yourself a case with the rest...

You should have asked that question before you bought your stuff dude.